Are You a Capitalist?

Everyone who is having success in their business is a capitalist these days. They believe in a free market.  Big government is bad; free markets are good. Let the consumer decide.
Our governor here in Kansas is trying to privatize everything in the state including my kitchen sink. I would have a lot more faith in these folks if I actually believed that they did indeed believe and respect free markets.

In order to be a great salesperson you have to trust the market. At least if you are going to be an ethical great salesperson. I recently was on the radio doing an interview and my interviewer, Ryan Rink, asked me why people have such a hard time making cold calls. One of the reasons people have such a hard time making cold calls is because they think they have to sell somebody something. They believe that they are going to have to convince someone to do something they do not want to do. If you ever pick up the phone and listen to a salesperson from a credit card company or the phone company you know exactly what I mean. They are trying to push people to do what they want using a myriad of manipulative techniques. They are not communicating they are pushing something at you.

If you trust the market and if you really believe people need and will benefit from using your product or services you can immediately end all the manipulation. You can call people and interact with them in a way that they will see that you really have their interests in mind. You can have an open mind. There are people who need your product and there are people who do not. You can interact with people with the intent of trying to figure out whether they may actually need your product.

I love to ask this question when I am talking to someone on a cold call or a first meeting,

 If you are happy with your current vendor why would  you change?

Listen, I am not asking people this question as a trick question or in any way trying to manipulate them. I trust the market and I know that there are people who need my products and can afford to buy my products. I am sincerely interested in having an adult conversation with them to see if they really have a need and if I can really help them.
Cold calling is not so horrific when you actually give a damn about the person you are talking to and you sincerely have their interest in mind.

So here is what I say to myself before I pick up the phone:

  • Can people/companies benefit from this product?
  • How will they benefit?
  • What are some of the problems my products/services can solve?

This puts me in a frame of mind where I can call people and focus on having a quality non-manipulative conversation.  I can talk to the person who answers my call as I would a friend. I focus on listening and deeply understanding the situation. I ask thoughtful
and clarifying questions. I communicate my message so they easily understand. My message is not slanted. It is not filled with hyperbole or industry jargon. I leave out the silly sales lines. My message is straight forward, efficient, to the point and honest. I do this because I trust the market, my offerings, and the people in the market. You see, I really believe in free markets.

One of the great door to door salespeople I have ever met told me sales is more about identifying someone who is interested than selling them.  He was right. He also deeply trusted himself, his product, and his market.

Leave a Reply

